Skip to content

Naptime News: Think Before You Speak

October 21, 2008

Throughout my high school career, I did not have many friends who used phrases such as “that’s so gay”, many of my friends were a lot more aware of the effect such a phrase can have on people who are indeed gay, lesbian, bisexual, or transgendered, or even for the families and friends who know someone who is not heterosexual.  I grew up with a godfather who was gay, he has since passed away due to a car accident, but I think of him often and he was an important figure in my life growing up.  As a result, I am against using the word gay as though it has a negative connotation to it.  Throughout my college career I spent time with guys who used such phrases and I would commonly stop and comment on the fact that if they want to show their distaste for something, someone, or a situation there are plenty of other words in the English language they have to choose from.  I really think it is up to everyone to make a concerted effort to discourage the ill use of a word that represents a community of people.  I do not think that it is too much to ask, it is a simple sign of respect.

I added the above video clip to digg, to digg it go here: http://digg.com/educational/Think_Before_You_Speak_Cashier.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

