Skip to content

What is in a name?

December 14, 2008

I think the better question these days is, “what can you find out using a name?”  The internet while extremely amusing since it is constantly used a venue for people to express themselves and to stay in contact with people has also become treacherous.  This is due to the fact that you are putting information out where people can easily access it.  My husband works in the IT sector and knows a lot about security.  This has brought an awareness to me that if people really want to get ahold of information about you, the internet is a great place to do it since it is relatively accessible to anyone.  I actually noticed my husband has a book titled No Place to Hide by Robert O’Harrow, which I think I will take the time to read, it deals with your privacy and how the collection of information on you that is in public domain, whether you volunteer it or someone else is, can affect your life.

This whole post was inspire by Jessica Gottlieb’s post Jane & Alexander: Disguising Your Children Online.  I have so far been calling my two children Z and Rose on here, which is not their real names in the first place.  But my dilemma is that I feel bad calling one by a letter of the alphabet and the other one gets an actual name, because I just happened to be able to make up a name more easily for Rose than Z.  So I took up the conversation with my husband and he concurred that it is important that we safeguard our children.  Instead I get to name the kids all over again.  Here is what we have come up with, from here on Z will be known as Libby, she is a free spirit and reminds me of liberty and freedom, and Rose from here on out will be known as Adela, which means “noble” and while I have not gotten to see her full personality, as it is yet to fully develop, she seems to be an old soul and far more serious then her older sister so it fits.

In other news, still no snow here, hopefully it does not happen tonight since I need to go into town tomorrow.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 30, 2009 1:23 pm

    I try to carefully balance making a web presence for myself without fully compromising my identity. The funny thing is I have a friend who has just about the most common Korean name possible, but he is also the most paranoid person I know when it comes to internet privacy.

    I’m like “Why?! If people Googled your name, they’d never find you anyway, even if you wanted them to.”

    Seriously, if your name calls up 815,000 results, don’t worry. People won’t find you.

    I’m not so lucky, unfortunately, to have such a common name. Way to protect your kids, though!

Leave a Reply

