Skip to content

My Conversion

January 29, 2009

No, I did not go off and join a new religion.  Most of my good friends know that I end the religion conversation by just throwing out the phrase “I grew up Catholic”.  It is by far the best conversation killer out there, especially when speaking to Christians.

sexy_linuxNo, instead I have converted to Linux.  A better part of last weekend was spent wiping the hard drive of inappropriate content cleaning up my desktop and well I asked my IT guru husband to make it a dual boot WinXP and Ubuntu 8.10.  Since then I have only loaded WinXP once, and that was to figure out if it was just Linux messing with me when I was trying to get on the internet or my wireless card had gotten loose.  So far, the battle between Ubuntu and I is currently a tied score.  The good news is I am thoroughly enjoying this game and I am in it for the long haul.

This evening we successfully got my wireless N card working (previously I had my old Linksys USB adapter hooked up to get on the net) and I installed Gwibber.  Gwibber is an “open source microblogging client for GNOME developed with Python and GTK. It supports Twitter, Jaiku, Identi.ca, Facebook, Flickr, Digg, and RSS.”  Installing Gwibber made my hubbie and I feel like n00bs because after trying to follow the tutorial on Ubuntu’s website I searched and found a blog that told us to just type “install gwibber” and voila it installed.  No need to go install stuff from all over the net and create new folders and what not, it was frighteningly simple.

brandnewNow I am getting to enjoy the wonders of open source material.  And I do think that it helps that I love my new wallpaper.  Yes, I realize I could put it up as my wallpaper on WinXP, but why?  I know Linux can be a headache, I have been trying to “beat it into submission” as my husband puts it, since we installed it.  But I like learning new things, and I think it would be nice to ween myself of my dependency for Microsoft.  Not to mention now I have a new toy to play with, Gwibber.

It helps cope with all the crap going on in the “real” world.  A little retreat is necessary between lay-offs at all the major movie studios, which my dad works for one (we found out today his job is safe for now), and the horrible situation at the Motion Picture & Television Country House and Hospital, where I volunteered during high school and now have a family member living there.  I just wish my mom had an avenue of escape.  The lucky one is my sister, she left Calfornia at a good time.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 31, 2009 5:38 pm

    Hey good for you! We have been using Ubuntu since April 2007 and now have it on all our computers – no dual boot, just straight Linux. We love it – it works far better than Windows ever did, no spyware, no viruses, short learning curve, it runs all our hardware, thousands of free applications that do everything we need. We would never go back to Microsoft.

    We have posted a diary of our experiences http://web.ncf.ca/adamandruth/ubuntu.html

  2. February 1, 2009 7:01 am

    Oh….I adore linux, but was no good at “beating it into submission” so back in 2002 when OSX came out I converted to a MAC. Can still work in a FreeBSD/Linux like environment when I need a break from all the fancy stuff! Good Luck! ps. sounds like we are from the same part of LA 😉

Leave a Reply

