Skip to content

Backseat Driver

February 20, 2009

So I called my husband this evening amidst going down to the hospital lobby to get fuel coffee.  He informed me that Libby is no longer allowed to listen to rap music (yes we are those type of hooligans people who listen to rap on occasion).  While the beat is wonderful and she likes dancing bouncing to it, she is starting to repeat words.  I guess he played something that had the word “go” in it and the minute the singer said “go” there was a trail of “go go go go go” from the backseat, as if a record got stuck.  I guess she also took the liberty to repeatedly tell my husband “go” every time he came to a stop or started to slow down.  We officially have a pushy backseat driver for a daughter.  Hopefully, Adela will not follow her lead, but now that I have said that I have just sealed our fate probably.

In other news, I guess the dress for my sister’s friend’s wedding came in.  I purchased it on Gilt Group, Jessica introduced me to the site and gave me an invite, if you would like an invite please feel free to email me at c4ff13nd at yahoo dot com.  To see a picture of the dress follow the link.

It is the “Pink Party Dress” by Walter, although I have not seen it in person I am looking forward to squeezing trying it on.

walterpinkpartydress

I am still looking for shoes, suggestions are welcome, although I am looking at a pair by Naughty Monkey (I am not sure if I truly have to have the pair because they are cute, or because I can say my shoes are by Naughty Monkey).

Currently, I am I am just hoping I fit in the dress (I have lost some baby weight, but still want to lose another 10 to 15lbs), but I also am starting to wonder if it was the right choice because of the length.  I was cursed blessed with a body shaped like a pear and I have thunder shapely thighs.  My first boyfriend used to call me the Venus de Milo with arms, here is a little reference.

venusdemilo

My last boyfriend and my husband have called me their “pear” or “hruška” (means pear in Czech), respectively.  I have come to accept the fact I am pear shaped and I actually found a blog that is for people just like me.  Probably the funniest thing is at the end of their page where they have the following:

“My butt is big and round like the letter C
and ten thousand lunges have made it rounder
but not smaller and that’s just fine.
It’s a space heater for my side of the bed
it’s my ambassador to those who walk behind me
it’s a border collie that herds skinny women
from the best deals at clothing sales.
My butt is big and that’s just fine
and those who might scorn it
are invited to kiss it.
Just do it” (From Pear Shapes Blog)

I discovered a long time ago no matter how much I work out, I will still remain a pear.  The fat just gets replaced by muscle and so you end up being a firm pear, instead of a soft squishy one.  But hey I am not a fan of squishy fruit anyways, so I think being firm is a good thing.

In other news I have written another article, about Samsung’s up and coming “Blue Earth” phone which looks like a fun toy.  I will leave you with that, now to go see if I can keep enough of a stable internet connection to stream a movie from Netflix on my laptop while Adela sleeps.  It is looking like we will hopefully get to go home over the weekend.  At least, I hope so because I have not had a real shower since Wednesday morning and while I did use a pack of those waterless shower wipe thingies from the hospital, it just does not quite cut it and it didn’t do a thing for my hair.

Image credit for Venus de Milo: dewet on Flickr under Creative Commons license

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

