Skip to content

Saturday: 1st Rumination

February 21, 2009

I figured I should have something consistent in my blog, and so I have decided to add proverbs. No not the kind you find in the Bible. Instead, I figured I could find odd ones that reflect life. I have a couple other ideas for this blog as well, since as long as the kids are sick and all hell is breaking lose nothing green is going to be going in my life other than buying biodegradable products and stuff with less packaging (which is hardly news IMO as I have been doing that for a while).

So I will be having Saturday ruminations. Why did I pick the word ruminate? Well take a look at the definition from dictionary.com and decide for yourself.
ru⋅mi⋅nate
/ˈruməˌneɪt/ Show Spelled Pronunciation [roo-muh-neyt]
verb, -nat⋅ed, -nat⋅ing.
–verb (used without object)
1. to chew the cud, as a ruminant.
2. to meditate or muse; ponder.
–verb (used with object)
3. to chew again or over and over.
4. to meditate on; ponder.

I figured I would start off with a Czech proverb, it sort of shows how I feel about being in the hospital since Wednesday.

“Host a ryba třetí den smrdí.”
Translation: “Guest and fish stinks at third day.”

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

